When you're changing your username, the username you're changing from is automatically reserved to you for 45 days, during that time no one else but you can change to that username.
So when the 30 days username change cooldown period is up, you still have 15 days to change to your previous username (reserved username), afterwards it's up for grabs to anyone.
